2 Thousand and Elevation

25 Jan

Greetings fremily!

Music lovers, Hip Hop heads and blogaholics, I greet you all and wish you a productive 2011.  Allow me to reintroduce myself. My name is BREIS (pronounced breeze) which stands for Brother Reaching Each Inner Soul.  I’m an Emcee, Educator, Writer and Entrepreneur. Over the last few years I’ve taken a break from music and concentrated on building up my Arts Education company called Student of Life.  After a long hiatus, 2011 marks the prodigal son’s return. I recently had an epiphany; it was that perfectionism is a major cause of procrastination.  Last December I came across a CD with a track I recorded with Estelle about 9 years ago. The data files had gotten damaged (flood in the studio) and I never got the chance to redo my vocals. I remember thinking it wasn’t good enough to make the album, so I just left it.  Listening to it again I realised that even though the track was nowhere near perfect, it was still dope! I soon discovered another track, then another and another until finally I had an imperfect, unheard album on my hand. I had to laugh. I’d been trying to make an album for years and didn’t realise I already had one in my possession, despite its imperfections.

Music is for sharing and so I’ve decided to share some of these tracks with suspect vocals, dodgy singing all included. Each week I will be sharing a track  that I’ve recorded over the last 10 years.  Some are unreleased, unfinished, under the radar and there are a few cool collaborations too.  I will also be giving some background information on how these tracks came to be.  Hopefully sometime in March, I’ll be uploading a free EP for you to download. Feel free to give me feedback and share your thoughts and spread it like butter on toast via fb, twitter et al.  This is a cleansing period for me, both spiritually and musically. Out with the old to make room for the new. First up will be my debut single (2001), Sounds so Fresh.

P.S. fremily = friends and family

2 Responses to “2 Thousand and Elevation”

  1. mwendelezi February 7, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    More power to you brother. This is your year x

Leave a Reply

