Here for You

3 Feb

LISTEN TO MY PROMO

“Before Breis was the bona fide geez, I was teased in school for being African by other black kids”

The last 2 years of Secondary school were quite rough for me. I had just returned to London after spending six years in Lagos, Nigeria. During this time unbeknown to me, I had acquired a slight accent which immediately made me stand out. I had no real idea about racism or racial prejudice before then (minus a few skinhead scares when I was younger) and soon found out that my Asian and West Indian classmates considered Africans to be uncool. I couldn’t get my head around the teaching styles and did miserably in my GCSEs. Those were some lonely and depressing times. Things improved in College; I moved on from Jason and Kylie to Neneh Cherry, Mantronix, Guy, Johnny Gill and EPMD (EPMD changed everything). The club that was killing it back then was Roseberrys in Hackney. I spent all night mustering up the courage to ask a girl for a dance, after no takers I got into bussing crazy moves. Swing beat was my thing. Emceeing, university and job hunting were next on the menu as was music.

This song chronicles those times.  This was also around the time garage was blowing up, I felt like Hip Hop was being ignored and so Here for you was about me saying I’m here for you Hip Hop even if others abandon you. In hindsight I think I was also saying music was there for me when I felt no one else was. This is the original version I did, it later got remixed by my friend Terrence Yoshiaki. His version went on my first mixtape called “Your favourite MC”. Terrence was one of the musicians for Black Eyed Peas when they first started out alongside Kim. That’s when they were killing it with the dance moves and freshness. Anyways wanted to let this version breathe. Let me know what you think.

8 Responses to “Here for You”

  1. heatseeker February 3, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Makes sense! This is so sincere

  2. Karl Nova February 3, 2011 at 10:12 pm #

    I love this! I totally feel this!!!!!!!!

  3. b sharp February 7, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Big tune… Im here for you mate… spk soon..

  4. Ayo Ogolo February 7, 2011 at 7:34 pm #

    Fantastic introduction Breis! This is just the start right? Keep going bro!

  5. Agnes Kuye February 7, 2011 at 8:48 pm #

    Fresssssh to def Breis !!! This is well overdue.
    I remember the first time I heard you in Carnaby St That time, so excited about the music & still am…

    I bumped that CD for about a year non stop…

    Much love and stay blessed 🙂

  6. beat bombshell February 17, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    This joint is heavy, thanks for sharing!

    • breismusic February 18, 2011 at 2:22 am #

      Glad you like. Make sure you subscribe or tune in next Thursday

Leave a Reply

