The Revolution is Right Here in Front of You

17 Feb

Egyptians protested for 18 days to stop the regime of President Mubarak and on Feb11 2011, they were rewarded. I can only imagine the elation of witnessing a revolution unfold right in front of you. But a revolution is rarely a revolution without bloodshed and sadly people lost their lives in the process. On twitter a lot of people were saying Tunisia’s done it, Egypt has done it, now it’s time for the UK! Hmmmm. Minus the fire extinguisher debacle, I’ve been impressed by the student protesting this year in the UK, however it might take a whole lot more before our government start listening to the people. But lets not lose hope, we’ve seen people power in full effect! And with that said, SAVE OUR LIBRARIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!


RIGHT HERE IN FRONT OF YOU

“Mummy travelled over 3000 miles to turn 3000 tears into 3000 smiles”

Anyways this week I thought I’d share this revolutionary tune (some of you might know it already) it’s a track called Right here in front of you produced by Unsung Heroes and is featured on The Rough Guide to African Rap album. The drums on this track were by the legendary Tony Allen who alongside Fela Kuti created the Afro beat rhythms. I got a call from TY who asked if I wanted to join him on the track and I jumped at the chance. It was an honour to be part of such a project and remains one of the highlights of my musical career. It’s possibly the most encompasing verse I’ve ever written. The opening line summed up what the whole verse was gonna do. It defined what we do as MCs and had some Yoruba in there, I later added some Pidgin English, name checked everyone involved on the record, gave a shout out to mum and imagined this being an audible telegram to my people in Nigeria. I remember writing the lyrics in the studio and running them past Ty to see what he thought. He really liked them so it was all good. I laid down the vocals and that was that. Ty came up with the catchy chorus from a line from his 1st verse. I don’t know if he realised how powerful it was when he chose it.

BOUNCE

“I rhyme for an Englishman, Dominican, Algerian
Brazilian, Sicilian, Nigerian or Indian…”

Here’s another archived tune I dug up the other day, courtesy of Reggae Hip Hop producer and DJ, Keith Lawrence. It’s another track I did with Ty full of vibes and just having fun. It’s called Bounce, enjoy. Next week we’ll return to the unreleased and unheard tunes, so stay tuned. Spread the blog!

4 Responses to “The Revolution is Right Here in Front of You”

  1. imoan February 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    “Right here in front of you” is criss, but I always find myself remembering the lyrics of / expecting the flow from “Expensive”.
    Wot 20 grand?

    • breismusic February 17, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

      Lol, true dat. Time for some reprogramming

  2. tymusic February 17, 2011 at 9:46 pm #

    goood times…… could have added look for me to finish the trilogy!!!….. goood times indeed

  3. tymusic February 18, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    i would also like to add that i have a semi blog at this juncture…..
    tymusicandlife.blogspot.com/
    thank you … and good night!!!.. lol

Leave a Reply

