Move On Up

27 Jun

MOVE ON UP

In June 2011, I took part in a professional development programme for artists working in African and Caribbean music called MOVE ON UP, produced by Serious as part of Black Routes and funded by the Arts Council England. There were 12 artists from all over England chosen to spend a week together in the most amazing grounds of Dartington Hall in Devon. One rapper, one producer, ten singers/musicians. It was an intensive week, we listened to speakers from withtin the music industry, took part in workshops, had jamming sessions and a Dragon’s Den exercise which was both fun and stressful (but of course my team won lol) and enjoyed some good food daily.

I have to say that it was the best week away I’ve had in a long time. It renewed my passion to be a recording artist, equipped me with vital information, made me appreciate my skill set and alerted to my blind spots. I was privelaged to meet 11 other talented artists  and beautiful people (I knew four of them already) . We worked together in such a magical way, it’s hard to put into words.  There were some collaborations that took place that week that were simply divine. Grammy award winning songs and performances were created.  It was a privelage and honour to spend time with them and I look forward to the projects everyone will be involved with. I’ll be sharing more with you about these artists, also known as the Diamond Dozen.

Adriano Adewale (percussion/voice/warm heart and skills from Brazil)
Ayanna Witter-Johnson (voice, cello, piano/has legendary powers of persuasion)
Bianca Rose (voice, guitar, ukulele/ playful and powerful)
Breis (hip hop vocalist – that’s me)
Bumi Thomas (voice, guitar/intense elegance)
Jahmel Ellison (voice, bass guitar/ cool and multi faceted)
James Yarde (producer/the glue holding the crew)
JB Rose (voice – beauty and soul)
Julian Gill, aka Esco Williams (voice,keys/this guy has soul and heart galore)
Mellow Baku (voice, guitar/unpredictable and sweet)
Mim Suleiman (voice, percussion – powerhouse vocals and dance moves ey!)
Ray Estaire (voice, keyboard – jazz scatt powers)

Leave a Reply

