Witness The Fitness

28 Feb

I haven’t seen my 6 pac for at least 12 years now and last month I decided 2pac needed his 4 brothers back. So I got back into the gym and for the first time in my life, started watching my nutrition. I suddenly realised how bad my eating habits were. Late night take outs, midnight snacks, missing lunch altogether simply because I was too engrossed in writing the perfect 16 bars or making a dope beat. Now I’m eating four meals a day, never bought so many eggs before and eating fruit and veg every day. Everyday ya know! That’s like a joke. This is for life and not just a few months anymore so I’m taking it easy and building it into a lifestyle. Health is so important and it was only after seeing people close to me fall ill that I realised this for real. God’s been telling me to get fit but I’ve been ignoring the warning, no more, Lord I surrender. I went for a jog a month ago and lasted 4 minutes!!! This is a real low, so the cardio thing is a must even though I hate it. I even bought new jogging bottoms. Had a chat with a fitness guru friend and he has dropped an idea into my head which I would have laughed at a few weeks back. I’ll let you know what it is in the next fitness blog, I still need time to digest it. Until then, no more meals after 9pm (this is the frikin hardest thing of them all). I’ve got a long way to go but I’m happy with how things are going. I’m giving myself a year to transform from Professor Klump into Michael Johnson. One day at a time. The Roots Manuva video is my life right now.

2 Responses to “Witness The Fitness”

  1. Z February 28, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    It’s a long road but worth the journey. Congratulations for getting back on the wagon. I think it is so important to make health a priority in our life because it effects so many elements of our overall well-being. Glad to see you repping for the hip-hop community as I think it’s a big issue amongst musicians due to the pattern of independent artist’s schedule. Bella-Marie and Pablo write about the importance of health from two different perspectives on the PH blog. There is a good article on health and hip-hop in the wake of erick sermon heart attack, heavy d’s death.

    http://phenomenalhealthstyle.tv/2011/12/18/hip-hop-finds-dietary-consciousness

    Good luck with getting your six pack back. As I said to my friend it is not cool when your belly is trying to talk to your shoes. I fell off but I’m back on the wagon too! : )

  2. akilah February 28, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    Well done for setting your goals and putting your health first. Take it one step at a time. Loved the video too!

Leave a Reply

