Prof Chinua Achebe and Legacy

1 Apr

“I love my culture, love my heritage/ but every where I turn – depicted as negative” – Strictly

BGCPIuzCMAEDBLo
Image by Onyinye
On March 21st 2013, the world lost Professor Chinua Achebe. My eyes welled up as I heard the news and was completely dazed for a few hours. I wasn’t sure why. Maybe it was the fact that he contributed to part of my childhood memories, my education, my respect for writers. It’s been ages since I read one of the world’s greatest novels: “Things Fall Apart” published in 1958 and it’s time to revisit it. The one thing I thought about after I recovered, was how beautiful it is when a man or woman leaves a legacy behind. Are you working on your legacy?
582450_10151336482296867_1288846364_n

As a writer and musician, this quote is my motto. We have to write our own story, make our own documentaries, document our lives, teach our children our stories and encourage them to write theirs. Through my music and my books I’m writing my own story, creating my own narrative and controlling the narrative (I got that bit from Nikita). Tell your story, work on your legacy.

Leave a Reply

